Find Property:

Tie for sailors of the year gong at Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards

Tie for sailors of the year gong at Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards

New Zealand sailor Stu Bannatyne knows the world better than anyone.

A crew who broke a 44-year drought for New Zealand and a couple of Kiwi sailors who helped Dongfeng Race Team win the closest Volvo Ocean Race in history at New Zealand’s annual yachting excellence awards.

The judges could not separate the Honda Marine team who won the JJ Giltinan Trophy, considered the world championship of 18-foot skiff racing, and Dongfeng’s Daryl Wislang and Stu Bannatyne for the main prize.

The winners were presented with the Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy at a gala dinner at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron in Auckland on Friday night.

VOLVO OCEAN RACE Round the world sailor Daryl Wislang is a newcomer of New Zealand’s sailors of the year award.

David McDiarmid, Matthew Steven and Bradley Collins became the first New Zealand team to win the JJ Giltinan Trophy since 1974 when they beat another Kiwi crew, Maersk Line, by one point.


* Bannatyne unsung hero of ocean race

* Kiwi Daryl Wislang wins his 2nd VOR

Wislang and Bannatyne played key roles in Dongfeng’s dramatic victory in the Volvo Ocean Race. It was Wislang’s second victory in the race round the world and Bannatyne’s fourth, which saw the most successful sailor in the Volvo Ocean Race history.

INTERNATIONAL 18FT SKIFF The Honda Marine 18-foot skiff racing team of David McDiarmid, Matthew Steven and Bradley Collins who have won a share of the sailors of the year award.

“Congratulations to the Honda Marine team and Daryl and Stu,” Yachting New Zealand chief executive David Abercrombie said. “Both were equally deserving of the top award.

“For the Honda Marine team to win something about our neighbors who have dominated the class for 44 years and have done so much more. in overseas and that their contribution is key to winning. ”

Josh Armit, who won gold in the Laser Radial at the 2018 youth sailing world championships, was named young sailor of the year.

NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team coaches Matt Thomas, Geoff Woolley and Kate Ellingham won the coach of the year award, and young boardsailor Veerle ten Have, who collected silver in the girl’s RS: X at the youth sailing world championships, picked up the emerging talent award.


Main Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards winners –

Sailor of the Year: David McDiarmid, Matthew Steven, Bradley Collins (Honda Marine); Dary Wislang and Stu Bannatyne (Dongfeng Race Team)

Young Sailor of the Year: Josh Armit

Emerging Talent: Veerle ten Have

Coach of the Year: NZL Sailing Foundation Youth Team Coaches (Matt Thomas, Geoff Woolley and Kate Ellingham)

Official of the Year: Gerald Flynn

President’s Award: Graham Catley

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.